ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 Fixture Schedule announced – ICC Cricket

The 2024 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup: A Traditional Game Meets Contemporary Spirit

In the early morning light, the International Cricket Council ICC has released the fixtures for the 9th edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024. This thrilling event is set to unfurl from the 3rd to the 20th of October in the heart of Bangladesh, promising to ignite the passion of a new generation of cricket enthusiasts worldwide.

The tournament will feature 10 teams in an exhilarating duel of 23 matches over 18 iconic days at two venues: the Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka and the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet.

The unveiling of the schedule occurred in Dhaka, graced by the presence of Mr. Nazmul Hassan, President of the Bangladesh Cricket Board, Geoff Allardice, CEO of the ICC, and the Captains of the Indian and Bangladeshi women’s teams, Harmanpreet Kaur and Nigar Sultana respectively.

Prior to the announcement, the Honourable Prime Minister of Bangladesh, Sheikh Hasina, hosted the two captains at her residence, extending her warm wishes for a successful World Cup.

Table of Contents:

  • Tournament Structure
  • Group Composition
  • Opening Day Spectacle
  • The Journey to the Finals
  • Words from the Wise
  • Complete Fixture Schedule
  • Warm-up Games


Tournament Structure:

The top two teams from Group A and Group B will secure their positions in the semi-finals, set for the 17th October in Sylhet and 18th October in Dhaka. The champion of this T20 World Cup will be crowned on the 20th October at the Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

Group Composition:

Group A is a mix of the six-time winners Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, and Qualifier 1, with matches taking place in Sylhet. Group B, on the other hand, comprises of Bangladesh, England, South Africa, West Indies, and Qualifier 2, with games scheduled in Dhaka.

Opening Day Spectacle:

The inaugural day of the World Cup will witness Bangladesh taking on Qualifier 2 in an evening match in Dhaka on 3rd October. The hosts are expected to make a strong statement in front of a sellout home crowd. Prior to this, 2023 runners up South Africa will play England, setting the stage for a thrilling 18 days of cricket.

The Journey to the Finals:

The defending champions and the most successful team in the tournament’s history, Australia, will commence their campaign on 4th October in Sylhet against Qualifier 1. The much-awaited clash between India and Pakistan will take place in Sylhet on 6th October.

Words from the Wise:

“Quotes from Geoff Allardice, Nizamuddin Chaudhary, Harmanpreet Kaur, and Nigar Sultana”

Complete Fixture Schedule

[Complete Fixture Schedule Here]

Warm-up Games:

Adding to the anticipation, there will be 10 warm-up matches from 27 September to 1 October, all taking place at BKSP in Dhaka.

Leave a Reply